Books

THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS 

Read an excerpt here now!

TVDCOVER

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

Kirkus Starred Review

School Library Journal Starred Review

ALA Booklist Starred Review

Publishers Weekly Starred Review

A Junior Library Guild Selection

ABA’s Winter 2020-2021 Kids’ Indie Next List

Goodreads Choice Awards – Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction of 2020 Nominee

Barnes & Noble Top 10 Best YA Science Fiction and Fantasy of 2020

AVAILABLE NOW!

US:

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1tvdBN

Amazon: http://bit.ly/1tvdAM

Indiebound: http://bit.ly/1tvdIB

Bookshop: https://bit.ly/1tvdBKSS

UK:

Waterstones:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2z5rMXG

Blackwell’s: https://bit.ly/2Hbq0rM

New Zealand:

Mighty Ape: http://bit.ly/TVDmaNZ

Whitcoulls: https://bit.ly/TVDwcNZ

Worldwide:

Book Depository: http://bit.ly/1tvdBD

- VIEW INFORMATION ON THE PRE-ORDER CAMPAIGN HERE FOR BOOKISH FREEBIES -

ADD ON GOODREADS

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

e-book-cover-mockup-template-over-transparent-background-a9862

Content Warnings

Blood, violence, gore, character deaths, explicit description of gouging self (not of their own volition), murder, weapon use, insects, alcohol consumption, parental abuse.

~

UNTITLED SEQUEL (THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS #2)

Coming Fall 2021 – Release date TBA

ADD ON GOODREADS

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898