Books

THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS 

Read an excerpt here now!

TVDCOVER

Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.

The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.

A blood feud between two gangs runs the streets red, leaving the city helpless in the grip of chaos. At the heart of it all is eighteen-year-old Juliette Cai, a former flapper who has returned to assume her role as the proud heir of the Scarlet Gang—a network of criminals far above the law. Their only rivals in power are the White Flowers, who have fought the Scarlets for generations. And behind every move is their heir, Roma Montagov, Juliette’s first love…and first betrayal.

But when gangsters on both sides show signs of instability culminating in clawing their own throats out, the people start to whisper. Of a contagion, a madness. Of a monster in the shadows. As the deaths stack up, Juliette and Roma must set their guns—and grudges—aside and work together, for if they can’t stop this mayhem, then there will be no city left for either to rule.

US: Margaret K. McElderry - Simon & Schuster 
UK/Aus/NZ: Hodder & Stoughton

Coming 17th November 2020

PRE-ORDER AVAILABLE

US:

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1tvdBN

Amazon: http://bit.ly/1tvdAM

Indiebound: http://bit.ly/1tvdIB

UK:

Waterstones:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2z5rMXG

New Zealand:

Mighty Ape: http://bit.ly/TVDmaNZ

Worldwide:

Book Depository: http://bit.ly/1tvdBD

ADD ON GOODREADS

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

e-book-cover-mockup-template-over-transparent-background-a9862

Content Warnings

Blood, violence, gore, character deaths, explicit description of gouging self (not of their own volition), murder, weapon use, insects, alcohol consumption, parental abuse.

~

UNTITLED SEQUEL (THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS #2)

Coming Fall 2021 – Release date TBA

ADD ON GOODREADS

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898